This new centre has been created in the property at Number 2, Vicar Road, Darfield. Restoration work commenced on February 21st. 2000 to create the following amenities for the residents of the village and for visitors.
A museum displaying some of the antiques bequeathed by the late Maurice Dobson, (previous owner of the property), and artefacts in two rooms that are illustrative of Darfield’s rich heritage. Guides are available and the facilities are suitable for parties from Schools; groups of older persons or individuals exploring the local area.
The late Maurice Dobson – a photograph taken about 1950 – donor of the premises that have become The Maurice Dobson Heritage & Amenity Centre.