St Michael and All Angels dates back to the Norman times, circa 1132. In the 19th century it was restored by John Loughborough Pearson, with funding from Sir Tatton Sykes, 4th Baronet of Sledmere House. Later his son, Sir Tatton Sykes, 5th Baronet, employed George Edmund Street to furnish the church. It was eulogised by Nicholas Pevsner and is a popular visitor attraction due to its unique interior; the walls and ceilings are decorated in colourful murals depicting various biblical scenes. It has highly geometric floors in the altar and nave. The Church is on the Sykes Churches Trail devised by the East Yorkshire Historic Churches Group. The trail is a tour of East Yorkshire churches which were built, rebuilt or restored by the Sykes family of Sledmere House in the East Riding of Yorkshire.